Black in Design 2019: Black Futurism

Conference Organizing Committee

Co-Chairs: Daisha Martin and Jaline Mcpherson
Marketing + Branding Leads: Rania Karamallah and Qusai Akoud
Logistics + Space Committee Lead: Esesua Ikpefan
Development + Finance Committee Lead: Khalil Kaba
Speaker Outreach Committee Lead: Aleiya Evison
Internal Communications Committee Lead: Tiera Satchebell


Conference Committee Members

Beatrice Huang
Cassandra Thompson
Vanessa Morrison
Zarina Ateig


AASU Leadership

Co-President:  Natasha Hicks (MUP/MDes, 2019)
Co-President: Marcus Mello  (MArch/MUP, 2018)
Secretary: Chanel Williams (MUP, 2018)
Treasurer: Shanasia Slyman (MUP, 2018)
External Relations Chair: Angel Quicksey (MUP/HKS MPP, 2018)
Internal Relations Chair: Simone Hodgson (MUP, 2018)
Social Chair: Armando Sullivan (MUP, 2018)
Media Chair: Donald Taylor-Patterson (MUP, 2018)



Jean Lauer (LF), GSD AASU Co-Founder/Chairwoman and Founder/CEO, Sweeten
Justin Garrett Moore, Executive Director, New York City Public Design Commission
Marc Norman (LF), Associate Professor of Practice in Urban and Regional Planning, Taubman College, University of Michigan
Courtney Sharpe (BiD 2015 Co-Chair), Senior Urban Planner, Boston Planning and Development Agency
Alexie Torres-Fleming (LF), Executive Director, Access Strategies Fund
Kolu Zigbi (LF), Program Director, Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems, Noyes Foundation


Graduate School of Design

Mohsen Mostafavi, Dean and Alexander and Victoria Wiley Professor of Design

Dan Borelli, Director of Exhibitions
Travis Dagenais, Communications Manager
Erica George, Coordinator of Student Activities and Outreach
Lindsey Grant, Assistant Director of Events and Special Projects
Stephen Gray, Assistant Professor of Urban Design
Toni Griffin (LF), Professor in Practice of Urban Planning
Paige Johnston, Public Programs Manager
Jesse M. Keenan, Lecturer in Architecture
Geri Nederhoff, Co-Chair, Dean's Diversity Initiative and Director of Admissions
Caroline Newton, Director of Internal Administration, Office of the Dean
Christine G. O'Brien, Financial Associate
Trevor O'Brien, Manager of Building Services
John Peterson (LF), Curator, Loeb Fellowship
Brad Quigley, Director of Alumni Programs
Matt Smith, Media Services Manager
Susan Spaulding, Building Services Coordinator
Ken Stewart, Assistant Dean and Director of Communications and Public Programs
Sally Young, Coordinator of the Loeb Fellowship Program
David Zimmerman-Stuart, Exhibitions Coordinator


Special Thanks

Timothy Patrick McCarthy, Lecturer on History and Literature, Public Policy, and Education
All of our participants, volunteers, and sponsors